10 X 10


We are obsessed by lists.  We love them numbered, bulleted, indented, in the paper, in a book, on a web page or on TV.  We like to think we are learning something without having to undertake the onerous task of actually reading.   One could write an entire book comprised of nothing but lists, and I’m sure it would sell.  Hell, there’s probably some already out there.

Me?  I hate lists.  I hate composing them, I hate referring back to them, and I hate leaving them on the counter on my way out the door to go grocery shopping.  For many years I avoided lists.  I never really learned the art of the list.  Or the art of study skills, for that matter, but that’s a different story.

I did what I had to do – at school, at work and at home, and developed a fantastic memory to compensate for my list phobia.

But now I find I need them.  Two things happened that made it so, and now I must learn how to use them properly — I became a mom, and I landed one of the most mythical of jobs – I work from home.

You may wonder why these things mean I must begin to use lists, but when you live in a rural area, and don’t have a hefty cash flow, it matters.

Now, if I forget one single item on my shopping list, it could mean two days or running around saying “Pleeeease pee on the potty, we only have 2 more diapers,” and if I forget one of my clients, well, I just won’t get paid.  And how do you buy diapers at all, when you don’t have any money?

And so, 10 X 10 was born.

This will be a project in ten parts, each part a single entry on a list, and each entry will be composed of a list of 10 things.  Only when I get to the end of my list of 10 lists will I let myself go, to illustrate that which I struggle to condense into one articulate line of brevity will not kill me.

Punishment or lesson, I’m not really sure how this should best be defined, but I figure by the time I’m done, I ought to be able to make a list and remember it long enough to cram it in my pocket before I leave.

3 thoughts on “10 X 10

  1. (please let me add the following) (if all the others have not beaten me to it…)

    To enhance the productive use of itemization, it is suggested that you identify the positive benefits you are seeking from this approach and then…(sorry, this is so obvious…) make a list!
    When you have the list of positive benefits written down, follow that with a list of the downside/cost of changing from your current approach to time management to the list approach.

    Personally, I am comfortable with lists provided they are not given excessive value (in the completion of the items).
    I find that I will write a list at the beginning of the day and re-write it as the day progresses and items (on the list) are accomplished. It’s funny, there is the positive feedback of checking-off items as you go and with it a tendency to want to stay with the original list, to better show the work accomplished.
    Therein lies the danger in using lists, having them become ‘the thing itself’ rather than a graphic representation of the work you manage to achieve.
    Plus a “continual revision” (of your list) helps to adjust as priorities shift during the course of the day.

    Will watch your progress (as a matter of fact, let me just add that to my….)

    Like

  2. Pingback: ROW Wed. Check In for Rant Rave Write | Rant Rave Write for GroupThink

  3. Pingback: Rant Rave Write Wed. Check In | Rant Rave Write for GroupThink

I'd love to hear what you think - comments make my day!

