10 Songs That Make Me Nostaligic


Nostalgic this morning. Posting songs to Facebook walls and everything.

Sometimes a song can instantly take you back in time so clearly it’s an out-of body experience. These all do that.

1. Paul Revere – Beastie Boys

This rural girl can still whip out these lyrics from start to finish, but it always takes me back to school.

2. Punk Rock Girl – The Dead Milkmen

My husband still put this song in mix discs for me. Makes me smile every time.

3. Teen Angst – Cracker

This was a ubiquitous song for a while, like a fall back soundtrack. And the line I think I’ll try and find a place to be surly could have been my tag line back then.

4. Goin’ Home – Dinosaur Jr.

Awww…takes me back to the days of being stood up an getting all moody about it.

5. Lithium – Nirvana

This always reminds me of a day in high school when about 10 of us were lined up, sitting on the curb, smoking. It was a subdued sort of day and we were all quiet, and my friend Ian and I noticed that every single one of us was tapping out this song.

6. Easy – Faith No More

Lionel Richie has nothing on the Faith No More version of this song.

7. Jesus Built My Hotrod – Ministry

Fair warning. This song will assuredly offend most people within the first 15 seconds. All I really need to hear to go back is ding a ding dang my dang a long ling long to crack a smile. And this is another song makes me drive fast.

8. Achy Breaky Heart – Billy Ray Cyrus

Whoa! Where did that come from? Talk about out of character! But I spent a bizarre summer doing the carny circuit with a friend, shilling out hippie products and for the first three fairs we only sold things when the local cover bands were playing this song. Weird.

9.  Party At Ground Zero – Fishbone

Relax, this was far before 9/11. Oddly predictive though. But this was a car cranker with one of my closest friends. Still not sure about one of those lines – the world is full of flowing pink paper stools???

10. Head Like a Hole – Nine Inch Nails

A song about money. We were told at homecoming we couldn’t play this song as it sounded to sexual. Literally the next song they played was Me So Horny. WTF???

So there it is. My formative years in a musical nutshell.

I'd love to hear what you think - comments make my day!

