So…I’ve Got Bette Davis Eyes?


“”But ya ahhhre, Blanche. Ya ahhhre in that chair!”

It’s weird, I know, but this is my typical response to anyone filling my head and ears with ‘ifs.’

“If I wasn’t broke…”

“If I wasn’t so tired…”

“If I didn’t work here…”

“”But ya ahhhre, Blanche. Ya ahhre in that chair!”

There’s a story behind that, but it’s not a very good one, so I’m not going to bother with it. But from the time I was 10 years old, it’s been my own special way of saying, Suck it up, the world has you by the short hairs.

Over the course of my life, I’ve had a number of people tell me I look like someone famous.

With Madonna, I’m pretty sure it was the lipstick and the hair that triggered the comment. Whatever it was, I got that one a lot from the ages of 14-20.

For the Noxema girl of the 90’s, I will admit a similar natural coloring.

For the more recent Milla Jovovich mentions, it might have been…what? We both have straight noses? Short hair? That one throws me, ’cause she’s freaking gorgeous and I don’t see the resemblance.

For the skinny million Sarah Palin comparisons, I blame the glasses. I hate those glasses.

None of the comparisons were awful. No one told me I look like this:

Goth lady

Photo courtesy of Author Lynn Kelley via WANA Commons

So there’s that.

But I have a client right now who insists that the profile pic you see here on WordPress looks like Bette Davis. He asked me if I knew who she was.

I do. In fact I have a very clear image of her in my head.

But I was slow enough in my response that I don’t think he believed me. He clarified, said she was beautiful, that it was a compliment. So I’m thinking this may be his mental image of Bette Davis:

But it’s not mine.

Have you ever seen Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?

Because this is my mental image of Bette Davis:

One thought on “So…I’ve Got Bette Davis Eyes?

I'd love to hear what you think - comments make my day!

