Brain Circles, or: When the Brain Eats Itself


My brain is pretty much like a snake  eating its own tail.

I get stuck in random though patterns that  are like a nightmarish combination of a mobius strip and 6 Degrees of Kevin Bacon.

The other night, while my husband and I were watching TV, an ad for the new James Bond movie came on.

…random useless conversation…random useless conversation…

Hubs: …what in Hell is the name of the guy that created James Bond?

I opened my mouth to answer, but nothing came out.

Where did that little bit of information go?

It was there. In my head. I know it was . But now? Nothing.

Me: Ian Something

Iaaaaaann…who?

Hubs: Rogers? No, that’s not right.

Ian Rogers…Ian Rogers…Rogers

Me: Roger Waters!

Also me: No. That’s Pink Floyd, you numb ass.

Why am I even thinking about this?

…back to the TV. . .more inane conversation.

Me: He was a knight, right?

Hubs: Who?

Me: The guy who created Bond.

Hubs: I think so. It’s no big deal.

Me: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle!

Also me: Wait! That’s Sherlock Holmes. Nevermind.

Hubs: Forget it. Google it later.

I caan’t!

There’s more TV. More talky talky. Then dinner takes us to a good two hours from the start of this conversation.

Me: I think he was Scottish, though.

Hubs: Thor?? (We’d been talking about The Avengers.)

Me: No. The Bond guy.

Hubs: Are you still seriously thinking about that?

Me: Of course. I know this.

Kiddo interrupted this conversation with a nightmare, so it was Mama to the rescue. I came back downstairs a half hour later.

Me: I think it was Ian Mcculloch.

Hubs: Are you kidding me?

Me: No. But Mcculloch doesn’t feel right, either.

Iam Mcculloch…Mcculloch

Hubs: Let’s just watch The Simpsons, okay?

It was an old episode. A spoof of 24. Kiefer Sutherland made a guest appearance.

Kiefer Sutherland…

Lost Boys

People Are Strange

Echo & The Bunnymen…

Me: Shit. Ian Mcculloch was the dude from Echo & The Bunnymen.

Hubs: Shut up.

Then, I fell asleep.

*beep…beep…beep*

Sir Ian Flemming

Son of a BITCH!

I'd love to hear what you think - comments make my day!

